Excellence Awards

Every three years at the World Petroleum Congress, the World Petroleum Council honours outstanding projects within the oil and gas sector with the WPC Excellence Awards. The prizes are awarded in two categories:

Technological Development and Social Responsibility

The objective of the WPC Excellence Awards (WPCEA) is to distinguish companies, institutions or any public or private organisation (not individuals) engaged in the oil and gas industry for promoting or operating with high excellence.

The judging panel is selected from an international group of stakeholders and industry experts and is independent of WPC. To recognise the efforts of both NOCs / large companies and small to medium sized organisations, there are two winners in each category. In addition, the WPC presents two highly commended awards within each category.

The following criteria are taken into consideration when assessing the projects:

WPCEA for Technological Developments

Technological breakthroughs
Innovative applications of existing technologies
Cost effectiveness
Wide applicability for the petroleum industry
Proved or clearly demonstrable and sustainable results (long term)

WPCEA for Social Responsibility

Innovative and far-reaching social responsibility initiatives benefitting the community or environment
Commitment and involvement of management and employees
Cooperation with local communities and stakeholders and development of mutually beneficial relations
Wide applicability and reproducibility within the petroleum sector
Proved or clearly demonstrable long-term sustainable results

For more details and nominating your projects for WPCEA , please visit http://www.world-petroleum.org/wpc-excellence-awards